Nomination Committee's proposal for Board and auditors of Mekonomen AB

20 March 2017 19:00

Prior to the Annual General Meeting on 25 April 2017, the Nomination Committee for Mekonomen AB proposes the re-election of Board members John S. Quinn, Kenny Bräck, Joseph M. Holsten, Malin Persson, Helena Skåntorp and Christer Åberg, as well as the new election of Magnus Håkansson.

The Chairman of the Board Kenneth Bengtsson has in December 2016 informed the Nomination Committee that he declines re-election.

Magnus Håkansson, born 1963, holds the position as CEO of RNB Retail and Brands AB (publ) since 2011, has a Bachelor in Business Administration and Economics (Stockholm School of Economics) and a Master of Science in Management (MIT Sloan School). He has previously held the positions as CEO of Expert Sverige AB, CFO of the KF Group and Management Consultant with McKinsey&Co, he was the Chairman of RNB Retail and Brands AB (publ) 2010-2011 and has held management and board positions in several other companies. Magnus Håkansson is currently the Chairman of Tenant & Partner Group AB and GS1 Sweden AB.

John S. Quinn is proposed for election as Chairman of the Board of Mekonomen AB.

The Nomination Committee also, in accordance with the Audit Committee’s recommendation, proposes the re-election of the registered audit firm PricewaterhouseCoopers AB as the company’s auditors for the period up until the end of the Annual General Meeting 2018. PricewaterhouseCoopers AB has stated that, provided that the Nomination Committee’s proposal is approved by the Annual General Meeting, the audit firm will choose the authorized public accountant Lennart Danielsson as auditor in charge.

Ahead of the 2017 Annual General Meeting, the Nomination Committee comprised: John S. Quinn, representing LKQ Corporation (Chairman), Jonathan Schönbäck representing Handelsbanken Fonder, Mats Gustafsson representing Lannebo Fonder and Arne Lööw representing the Fourth Swedish National Pension Fund. Mekonomen’s Chairman, Kenneth Bengtsson, has been co-opted to the Nomination Committee.

The Nomination Committee’s proposals are supported by shareholders who jointly represent approximately 43.4 per cent of all the votes in the company.

The complete proposal of the Nomination Committee, also including proposals pertaining to the Chairman of the Annual General Meeting, fees to be paid to the Board of Directors and auditors, as well as guidelines for the composition of the Nomination Committee will be stated in the notification of the Annual General Meeting. The proposal and the Nomination Committee’s reasoned opinion with information about the proposed Board members will also be made available at the company and on the company’s website,, in connection with the publication of the notification of the Annual General Meeting.

The Annual General Meeting of Mekonomen AB will be held on Tuesday, 25 April 2017, at 3:00 p.m. at SF Skandia, Drottninggatan 82 in Stockholm.

For further information:

John S. Quinn, LKQ Corporation, Chairman of the Nomination Committee: Tel: +46 (0)8- 464 00 00

Mekonomen AB (publ), Corp. Reg. No. 556392-1971
Box 195 42, SE-104 32 Stockholm, Sweden
Telephone: +46 (0)8-464 00 00

Scroll to top